AIM: Access and Inclusion Model

In this section:

What is AIM?

The Better Start Access and Inclusion Model (AIM) is a model of supports designed to ensure that children with disabilities can access the Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) programme. Its goal is to empower service providers to deliver an inclusive pre-school experience, ensuring that every child can fully participate in the ECCE programme and reap the benefits of quality early years care and education.

AIM is a child-centred model, involving seven levels of progressive support, moving from the universal to the targeted, based on the needs of the child and the service provider. For many children, the universal supports offered under the model will be sufficient. For others, one particular discrete support may be required to enable participation in pre-school, such as access to a piece of specialised equipment. For a small number, a suite of different services and supports may be necessary. In other words, the model is designed to be responsive to the needs of each individual child in the context of their pre-school setting. It will offer tailored, practical supports based on need and will not require a formal diagnosis of disability

AIM training Schedule

KCCC has been providing Equality and Diversity Training since the AIM programme began.
Feedback on this training has been very positive and we have experienced very high demand for places at the training events. The programme consists of 1 full day and 3 evening sessions, and is open to all providers in Kildare to attend.

Wednesday 11th April Monday 16th April

Monday 23rd April

Monday 30th April

Keadeen Hotel, Newbridge

Saturday 21st April

Wednesday 25th April

Wednesday 2nd May

Wednesday 9th May

Maudlins Hotel, Naas

Saturday 12th May

Monday 14th May

Monday 21st May

Monday 28th May

Maudlins Hotel, Naas

Saturday 26th May

Wednesday 30th May

Wednesday 6th June

Wednesday 13th June

Solas Bhride, Kildare Town

Saturday 9th June

Monday 11th June

Monday 18th June

Monday 25th June

Maudlins Hotel, Naas

Saturday 16th June

Wednesday 20th June

Wednesday 27th June

Wednesday 4th July

Keadeen Hotel, Newbridge

Saturday 23rd June

Thursday 28th June

Thursday 5th July

Thursday 12th July

Clanard Court, Athy


If you wish to attend an event you see advertised, please contact marie@kccc.ie
Invitations will be sent to all of those on our mailing lists via eventbrite 

Parent's FAQs

My child is starting ECCE and I have concerns they may need support under AIM - what should I do?
- Contact your preschool well ahead of your child's start date to ensure any additional supports can be made available as soon as possible.

My child's preschool has suggested my child will require AIM supports, I am not sure.
- It is definitely worth availing of any supports offered as anecdotally parents and providers are reporting that this support at an early age is making a huge difference to children's readiness to begin school when the time comes. It means that your child can be given help with any difficulties which they are having at the earliest possible opportunity and the results reported by parents so far have been very encouraging.

 

Access and Inclusion Model (AIM) - Information and Contact Leaflet

AIM Website

Full information on the AIM Scheme is available at aim.gov.ie or please contact us at aim@kccc.ie with your enquiry

 

Latest News

27 March, 2018

Free Online Training for Childminders

[read more]
01 March, 2018

Parents Plus - Early Years Programme April 2018

[read more]
01 March, 2018

Force Majeure Application Form

[read more]
01 March, 2018

Statement on Storm Emma and the Early Years sector

[read more]
28 February, 2018

UPDATE : Notice from DCYA regarding weather conditions

[read more]

                    Kildare County Childcare Committee, 

                      Unit 21 Thompson Enterprise Centre, 

                      Clane Business Park                      

                      Clane,

                      Co. Kildare   

                      E-Mail info@kildarechildcare.ie      CRA No. 20054175

                      Tel. 045- 861307                             CRO 355991

                      Web www.kccc.ie                            CHY No. 15585